Friday, August 1, 2008

Old Age

I think I'm getting old. Like senial.

Last night, I was totally jazzed to blog about this awesome thing and I even had some blog funnies stored up.

But now..... nothing. Its like a unmarked chalkboard, a pristine wipe off board, a blank canvas.

There is nothing in my brain.

Maybe its all these interviews I've been a part of. Try 6 in the last 3 days. Its making me crazy.


Hmmm..... I'm really trying to think of what I was going to blog about.

Well I got a Wii Fit. Finally I found one. Seriously, Nintendo has a conspiracy going on. Why are there no Wii's, Wii Fits, or Mario Karts available in all of the Peninsula or the North American Continent?

To reak havoc. Maybe its a plan created by the Joker. Besides turning good to evil with the politicians and cops, he also is planning to turn all Wii owners (or wannabe Wii owners) into evil beings by making them crazy for it.

I bet he was behind the whole Tickle Me Elmo and Furby mob insanity craziness too. That Joker, I tell you what he's pretty smart. He hides his evil behind that smile and "make up". Well, he also hides his evil in video games, red giggly creatures and smiley owl/gremlin like things.

The only difference I think will be that people will actually continue to use and like Wii's. Instead of wanting to stab the giggle and "feed me" out of it like the other two.

Normally I try to stay away from the "I gotta have it now" issue. There have been 3 things that I have done it with. My sidekick (even though I contemplated for like a year), my ipod (which i bought off Ebay) and this Wii stuff.

I think its more the thrill of it. Seriously, spending time looking for it can be disappointing, but at the same time, the "what if" of it all is exhilarating. Wow, that was sad.

I just think, "ok, now I have Wii Fit. I'm sure I will use it, but really did I need to be searching for it frantically?"

hopefully the answer in a couple of days will be "HELL YES, this thing is AWESOME!!!" :)

Wednesday, July 30, 2008

Offensive yet responsible

So I went and saw "Step-Brothers" last night. It was awesomely offensive and utterly hilarious. I will not and cannot repeat the funniest lines in the movie. Just imagine Superbad language/acts meets Talledega Nights intelligence.

My favorite part of the whole movie (or at least the part that made me go "YEAH!") was at the very very end of the credits, just before the "no animals were harmed" bit.

"CARBON USE OFFSET WITH RENEWABLE ENERGY"

How cool is that? I mean, maybe I just don't pay attention to all the credits but normally I stay to the end (just in case). How many other companies are doing this? Maybe they are doing it but not bragging. To Hell with that. Brag. Brag about the good you are trying to do with the environment. Brag about using organic or locally grown food during filming. Brag about using CFL lights whenever you can. Brag, brag, brag.

Let everyone know how awesome you are for trying to save the environment. On the other hand, as much as you brag you should also admit. Be shameful of the fact that you forget your canvas bag and have to use plastic about 60% of the time. Or that you drove to work everyday even though you could walk.

I'm admitting to those things right now. But I try my best to just shove little things in my purse when i don't need a bag. Or use something that I've bought as a carrier.

Learn to brag and learn to admit. No one is perfect. Anyone who says they don't contribute to global warming in anyway are liars and probably smell bad.

Anyway, go see StepBrothers (or don't if you don't like the F-bomb, or potty humor) but revel in the fact that large studios are finally catching on to what they are producing doesnt just end up in the theatre (or straight to DVD like Land Before Time 76) :)

Monday, July 28, 2008

Here it goes again.....

Well, I've been inspired. Not to write some great novel or poem or even a "tell it like it is" letter to the editor. Nope, I've been inspired to blog.

I guess it was always something I thought i wouldn't do. I mean I have myspace to write blogs if I need to or send out novel length emails if absolutely necessary.

But then a sister moved to Canada. And she started one. And now I feel as though my life might just be cool enough to start one as well......maybe.

So for starters, I've decided that I want DVR. Never before have I ever felt a need for such a thing. Except last night my head nearly exploded all over my new living room.

You see, I saw that CNN's "Black In America" series was on, so immediately I tuned to that, but then a commercial came on and I turned into a 4 year old that lacked the attention to just ignore the commerical and HAD (I repeat HAD) to find something else to watch during that 60 to 120 seconds of commerical time. So....I started flipping through the on tv guide and guess what I found??? DISNEY'S HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: GET IN THE PICTURE show. OMG. LOL. Like, I was so totally excited.

So for about the next 17 minutes I tried my best to flip between the somewhat dark, depressing (yet strangely uplifting) "Black in America" series (where I found out that the majority of black children learn at a rate lower then any other country....scary) to HSM (yes I know the acronym) where every kid seemed to have been plucked from their High School spirit squad.

It was hard to be so engrossed in something so intense and then switch it up to whatever it is Disney is.

anyway, i finally gave up and just left it on CNN and I think came away with a lot more then I would've if I had stuck with High School Musical, although I did miss hearing the girl from the Mainland who had moved to Hawaii sing (i did see that she made it thru to the semi-finals, though I will never know if she truly deserved it.)

that was my night last night. don't be jealous. maybe someday you can also have a tv dilemma, where your intelligent side is screaming at you for one thing, but you're smiley, care free side is fogging your brain with lollipops, white smiles and disney songs.